top of page
Writer's pictureBryce & Kaylee

Christmas Gifts for Hikers 2020

Here to help you find that perfect gift for your favorite hiker!

The time has come, Christmas is right around the corner! It can be a real challenge to find the perfect gift for someone you love. We want to help you out! If you’ve got a friend who is starting to adventure into the great outdoors, we’ve got a couple of great gift ideas. The items on this list are things Bryce and I have accumulated and bought with each other since we started hiking through parks in March.


Texas State Parks Pass

First on our list is the Texas State Parks Pass. It costs $70 and gives the cardholder unlimited free entry to all 89 state-recognized parks within the state of Texas. The amount of value that we have gotten from this $70 purchase is at least 3x that amount. I highly recommend this as a gift; it allows trips to be planned without having to worry about this aspect of the cost. It inspired Bryce and I to visit more and more parks while we had the time available.


Camelbak Hydration Pack

I got this gift for Bryce’s birthday because we needed something to carry various items as well as something for us to carry more water in. The Camelbak Hydration pack has space for a first aid kit, towels, snacks, or whatever else you might need to bring on a hiking trip. This pack also comes with a 2.5-liter reservoir with a side water bottle pouch to ensure you stay hydrated on your hikes!


HydroFlask Water Bottle

I’ve used a HydroFlask water bottle for years now. My sister is obsessed with buying them, so I “borrowed” one of her old ones for myself. This bottle is great for keeping drinks at the temperature they need to be. I recommend bringing the 32 oz. HydroFlask along on day hikes; it is a good size to keep you hydrated but not too large it is difficult to carry while walking.


Texas Parks Maps

In March, when Bryce and I set a goal of visiting every Texas State Park, we wanted a way of mapping everywhere we have been. So of course, I went straight to Etsy to find the perfect map. I absolutely love this map, although it was difficult to find a frame to fit the map in. We wound up getting one a little larger than the map and putting a border around it.


KAVU Backpack

I have been using a KAVU backpack since high school. I love the crossbody strap and the fact that it isn’t so big. I am a person that does not carry around a lot of things. It is perfect for fitting my camera equipment, and it has a side pouch for a water bottle.


We hope this list helps you find the perfect gift for the person you care about! It’s time to rock gift giving this year!


Comments


bottom of page