top of page
Writer's pictureBryce & Kaylee

Trying Trails I Found Around Flower Mound on AllTrails

I highly recommend using the AllTrails app to find new places to explore right around you.

I’m always looking for a fun trail to try out, especially the ones right in my backyard of Flower Mound. So, I decided to hop on my handy dandy AllTrails app to see some recommended trails. Some were literally right in my backyard, while others required a short 15 minute drive to get to. I tried out four different trails around Flower Mound and have short reviews about each.


Purple Coneflower Trail

This trail connects up with my neighborhood; going out and back to my house allows me to get a nice three miles in. This trail can be a fairly popular site due to the nature that surrounds the sidewalk. A lot of families, couples, and graduates like to use this space to take pictures. However, the creek that runs along the sidewalk is so peaceful and relaxing to listen to. It can be especially fun after a heavy day of rain causing the creek to flow harder and faster.


Prairie Creek Trail

This trail runs along a neighborhood and by Huffines Middle School. It is another three mile, out-and-back trail that also passes by a park. You do need to be aware of flying discs when walking this paved trail since there is an 18-hole disc golf course on both sides of the sidewalk. This would be a great spot to head out to if you want to get some cardio in and finish the outing with a nice game of disc golf.


Pilot Knoll Trail

Now, there is a legend that surrounds the trailhead near Goatman’s Bridge - it might be a little haunted haha. With that, it made me a little nervous to be walking around by myself. But after working up some courage, I made it in. I hiked about a mile along the trail before I got to a point where I had to turn around. I probably could’ve ventured a little further, but I didn’t want to get lost.


Horseshoe Trail Loop

I absolutely loved walking this trail. There is a Short Loop which crosses over with this Loop, so it can be a little difficult to navigate at times. I kept my AllTrails app open, so I could make sure I was on the right trail when I needed to. This loop is also moderately populated, with lots of bikers as well. Don’t walk with headphones (you should really never do this haha) that way you can hear when bikes or other people are coming around a corner.


I hope this helps you realize that there is so much beauty and fun in the parks around you, visiting these trails has given me this perspective. You don’t have to head out to National Parks to find an “Instagram-worthy” place to visit. Any place can be “Instagram-worthy” if you make it.



9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page